Thread: Is it possible to have a VBAC in a Birth Centre?

Default Is it possible to have a VBAC in a Birth Centre?

I have been discussing my options tonight with my partner. He spoke to one of his mate's wives and she suggested maybe we could try a birth centre.

I am currently 29 weeks pregnant and the Logan Hospital told me at 23 weeks that I cannot have a vbac after 2 caesareans (despite me already having a successful VBAC with my son in 1999). I then went to my midwife appt and the midwife has advised me to write to the Professor of the hospital in the hopes of getting my vbac. But I don't know what success I will have with this.

We were thinking of hiring a midwife as a possibility if the Logan will not let me give birth. And then, thinking of that money we would spend, we are wondering if a birth centre is a good idea? And being in the hospital at the same time, would be good. But, my question would be...do they accept women who have had 2 prior caesareans? I have no experience in the private sytem or with birth centres. Can anyone help? I imagine the Mater Hospital in brisbane is the nearest birth centre to me. Though at 29 weeks...have I left it too late?

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Australia

No birth centres dont do them, you have to be their classification of 'low risk'... so hospital or homebirth but not a BC.
    Kelly xx

Creator of BellyBelly.com.au, doula, writer and mother of three amazing children

BellyBelly Birth & Early Parenting Immersion - Find out how to have a BETTER, more confident birth experience... guaranteed!
    Want To Be A Doula? Everything You Need To Know

That sux.

I realised after I typed this and looked up birth centres on here, that I would need to be low risk, book early and numbers were low.

I guess I'll just wait and see now. If the hospital are not cooperative, I may just have a home birth.