Thread: VBA2C's ?? Is it possible ??

Smile VBA2C's ?? Is it possible ??

Hi there, Im new to this so I hope Im in the right area... I was just wondering if anyone has had experience or knows if it's possible to have a natural birth after emergency c's? I had a grade 3 placenta previa with my daughter who was born at 31 wks, she was coming ready or not! and a year later had my beautiful Oscar who I tried for naturally, my water's broke but I did not go into labour, I was induced, and 13.5 hrs later they took him out as he was indistress. I would like to get a douler and try for a natural but not sure if it's even possible!! It will be at least 2 years between Oscar and the third if that makes a difference. Thanks

Hi Wanna
    Yes it is possible to have a vaginal birth after having 2 ore even more c/s. The main concern is that your scar will break open causing your uterus to rupture putting both you and your baby in danger. The chances of this happening are about 0.9%. most of these will be "silent" or "incomplete" which may only be discovered incidentally at the time of repeat C/S. However the chances of requiring a CS for other acute conditions (fetal distress, cord prolapse or antepartum haemorrhage) in any woman giving birth is approximately 2.7%, a much higher rate than the chance of your uterus rupturing. One other thing to consider is that the chance of needing an emergency hysterectomy after a c/s is about 0.6%. Quite high when you consider that the c/s may not have been needed in the first place

Hi wanna
    I got your message and have left my email addy if you wanna chat with me. I did have a successful vba2c's just over 3wks ago! I also had some great support from Alan and some others on here. Alan is a rock if you need him! He helped me through a very rough patch leading up to my vba2c which i am forever greatful. Thanks again Alan

Anyway email me if you want and i will tell you whatever i can.

Cheers
    Kat